top of page

"The coming of our God"


I lived with my parents in a village far off from a city and Christmas was the most exciting moments in my life. I definitely know it was and still exciting moment for many children especially.

However, I cherished Christmas differently than how any child could possibly cherish due to the way it was celebrated.

Now, let’s take a tour on how I celebrated my Christmas in the 90s.

I know few of you will relate with the narration I am about giving.

At the eve of 24th December, my father will wake me up to the farm to gather some food stuffs for the celebration.

Though I was a kid, I enjoyed waking in the morning dews on leaves and branches of trees which refreshes the body.

The tossing leafs and whispering from trees sounded like a choir singing hymns. Awww, so refreshing.

My father will then lead me to a bunch of bamboo for stumps for what we called "Bronytuo" – Christmas gun. Car bards were bought from the local stores to power the gun. Now, it has been replaced with fireworks and other related explosives.

We didn’t have nuclear families when it came to celebrating Christmas. You eat and drink with anyone in any house at any moment of the time.

A lot of people will call on you as well as you going to other people to wish them well for having lived the whole year.

Charity, donations, brotherly love, humanism and respect were the core elements of the celebration.

Growing up, these practices have been shifting to different dimensions which are very much difficult to comprehend.

The core motive for the celebration of Christmas has gradually been displaced. The relevance of being benevolent to homeless and street children, the ostracized and deprived and the poor and marginalized are no more seen.

The adage “everyone for himself, Christ for us all” seems getting roots in our societies as most families lock up themselves in close doors to enjoy whatever they have. My Christmas was the richest anyone could have. Being rich is not what you have in your pocket, rather, what you posses in your heart that you are willing to give out.

There are a lot of people who will not be able to afford even a slim share of what you have planned for this Christmas.

They are the true meaning of Christmas.

The man you are preparing to celebrate his life was coming to give himself wholeheartedly to you and me.

He is not considering what he will gain at the end. He wouldn’t have come at all because humanity have nothing to repay his love.

In your own way, welcome the King with kindness, love charity and merry cheer with those who need them the most.

Wishing you a merry Christmas in advance.

Till next time, this was from my mind's eye.

bottom of page